Friday, June 30, 2017

Throwback Thursday: Get Born, by Jet

In 2003 rock music was barely hanging on by a thread in the mainstream. You had bands like The White Stripes, The Black Keys, and maybe a couple of others but that was it. Enter Jet, a straight up no frills attached hard rocking garage rock band from Melbourne, Australia. When they hit the mainstream rock scene with their debut album Get Born, they shot straight up the charts with multiple hit singles and made it cool to rock again.

Get Born sounds like a raucous blend of everything we have all loved over the years about bands like AC/DC, Iggy and the Stooges, The Rolling Stones, Oasis, etc. It has that 60's garage rock vibe blended with the heavy punch of 70's hard rock and the driving raw nature of punk. Some of their best known songs came from this album, such as: Are You Gonna Be My Girl, Roll Over DJ, Cold Hard Bitch, etc. Needless to say, this album cemented Jet as a household name in the world of rock n' roll from that point forward.

Cold Hard Bitch is one of my all time favorite rock n' roll tunes. To me it kind of embodies what rock n' roll is all about in terms of its gritty in the gutter lifestyle vibe that is somehow pleasing to the ear. That driving chorus gets me singing along and punching into the air every time. Hell, I even have it as my ringtone for my exes. It's got some great crunchy riffs with only enough polish to make it sound good through a speaker. The rest is just loud, ear thrashing, fun loving rock n' roll.

I guess I can't review this particular album without mentioning Are You Gonna Be My Girl. This is the album's main single and what got the band noticed and so huge to begin with. It's been played and overplayed so many times over the years, but for good reason. The way it just builds up with one instrument after another and breaks into a rock n' roll dance party is something you don't hear a lot of any more. From there on out it just pushes the pedal to the metal and makes you want to just shout "F*** YEAH!" the whole time. It's a definite classic.

Get Born is a MUST have for rock n' rollers of any age, whether you're an older folk looking to have some faith in a newer generation of musicians or a kid looking for some great musical inspiration to help shape your tastes. It's got something for everybody who has ever been in love with the kind of raw, honest, down to the bone rock n' roll that doesn't get all high produced and pretentious. I can't recommend it enough.

Get Born, By Jet receives 4 out of 5 stars.

Track List:

1. Last Chance
2. Are You Gonna Be My Girl
3. Rollover DJ
4. Look What You've Done
5. Get What You Need
6. Move On
7. Radio Song
8. Get Me Outta Here
9. Cold Hard Bitch
10. Come Around Again
11. Take It or Leave It
12. Lazy Gun
13. Timothy

Buy the album on Amazon:

No comments:

Post a Comment