Tuesday, December 1, 2015

New Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow Line-Up Revealed

Not long ago it was announced that guitar giant Ritchie Blackmore was making an extremely brief return to rock music after playing nothing but renaissance music in his group Blackmore's Night for the past two decades. After some shows in Europe being confirmed, the line-up for the gigs has also been revealed.

Guitar: Ritchie Blackmore
Vocals: Ronnie Romero
Bass: Bob Nouveau
Drums: David Keith
Keys: Jens Johansson

Romero is still very new to the scene and according to Blackmore sounds like "a combination of Ronnie James Dio and Freddie Mercury". Blackmore intends to give him some considerable exposure to the mainstream and hopefully help him to be successful. Nouveau and Keith have already worked with Blackmore before in Blackmore's Night, whereas Johansson has not but is already a long time veteran.

Seems like a fairly decent line-up, though personally I am a little skeptical of people from a renaissance band doing hard rock and metal. However, I may yet be proven wrong and pleasantly surprised. Regardless, it's about time that Ritchie Blackmore finally got back to his roots and made the music that got him where he is today.

No comments:

Post a Comment