Thursday, September 25, 2014

Throwback Thursday: Waking the Fallen, by Avenged Sevenfold

In 2003 a band named Avenged Sevenfold (A7X for short) were starting to make themselves noticed on the scene with their own brand of modern heavy metal, especially when they released their second album Waking the Fallen. Influenced by many classic metal and punk bands they have over the years sold millions of albums and sold out many concerts with their own take on a beloved musical genre. Though A7X wouldn't become the insanely popular band they are today until their next album City of Evil which was released in 2005, this was their jumping point to get there.

As far as I'm concerned Waking the Fallen is when A7X really started developing their trademark sound with the abundance of dual-harmony guitar solos, speedy drum rhythms, deep gutsy riffs, and pacing that takes you on one hell of a wild ride from start to finish. While still retaining a lot of the element of screaming vocals from their first album Sounding the Seventh Trumpet they also brought in more melodic vocals than had been present previously in order for the album to be more marketable and also to sound more like their favorite bands at the time.

Anyone who has been a fan of Avenged Sevenfold for some time knows of Unholy Confessions. It is one of the few older songs that they still play at their live shows. The song kicks in with a tasty speedy guitar riff from lead guitarist Synyster Gates, but what makes this song really come alive is the impeccable switching between screaming and melodic vocal styles by singer M. Shadows. Another thing I can praise the Unholy Confessions for is how much variety there is in it in terms of rhythm, melody, and pacing. At some points the verses almost have a slight funk vibe while the rest of the song gets heavy and rocking.

However, my absolute FAVORITE Avenged Sevenfold song of all time comes from Waking the Fallen, which is Chapter Four. This song tells the story of Cain and Abel in such a dark and powerful way. This song has everything I love about A7X in it. It has brilliant dual harmonized guitar solos, vocal melodies in the chorus so orgasmic that at some points I swear I'm having a real eargasm, and an overall intensity that does NOT let up till the song is over. Chapter Four is where I honestly feel Avenged Sevenfold became the band we know and love today.

Waking the Fallen is without a doubt my favorite A7X album. The balance of their old style and the more commercialized style they went into is absolutely perfect. I love most of what they have done after it as well, but I feel that in this album they were still staying true enough to their roots while also making themselves a little more accessible to people who may not have given them a chance otherwise. It is a definite must have for any A7X fan and even any fan of modern or classic heavy metal.

Waking the Fallen, by Avenged Sevenfold receives 5 out of 5 stars.

Track List:

1. Waking the Fallen
2. Unholy Confessions
3. Chapter Four
4. Remenissions
5. Desecrate Through Reverence
6. Eternal Rest
7. Second Heartbeat
8. Radiant Eclipse
9. I Won't See You Tonight (Part 1)
10. I Won't See You Tonight (Part 2)
11. Clairvoyant Disease
12. And All Things Will End

Buy the album on Amazon:

No comments:

Post a Comment