Monday, September 22, 2014

Pink Floyd Reveal Cover Art, Track Listing, and Other Details of New Album

 (Album cover for Endless River, by Pink Floyd)

Prog-rock pioneers Pink Floyd have been in the news recently having announced their first studio album in 20 years which will be titled The Endless River. The band has mentioned some details such as how it will feature recordings from Division Bell sessions including ones from the late Rick Wright (Pink Floyd's keyboardist who died in 2008) along with augmentation overdubs from guitarist David Gilmour and drummer Nick Mason. However, now even more details have been made public.

The Endless River has revealed to be 18 tracks (all of which are listed below). Also, the cover which will be used has been made public. According to an interview with Uncut the band says that there will be some organ work Wright did in 1969 with a real atmospheric tone to it.

Gilmour has also gone on further to say about the album, “The Endless River has as its starting point the music that came from the 1993 ‘Division Bell’ sessions. We listened to over 20 hours of the three of us playing together and selected the music we wanted to work on for the new album. Over the last year we’ve added new parts, re-recorded others and generally harnessed studio technology to make a 21st century Pink Floyd album. With Rick gone, and with him the chance of ever doing it again, it feels right that these revisited and reworked tracks should be made available as part of our repertoire.”

The Endless River is said by Pink Floyd to have an abundance of  “mellifluous keyboards, jazz-tinged drums, musique concrete, ethereal vocals, and distinctive, emotional lead guitar" while also being a “return to the creative principles of Echoes, Shine On You Crazy Diamond, and Animals". It will be due out November 10th.

 Looks like everything short of actually releasing any of the tracks from the album has been done. After all the boasting and hype Pink Floyd has done for this I'm wondering what it will actually sound like. I'm getting the impression that The Endless River isn't really the type of album that would have a promotional single released for it given that the majority of it is instrumental with more of an ambient overtone to it. I kind of like the cover. It seems like a fitting tribute to their fallen brother. That being said, we have to wait another month and a half for what will probably be Pink Floyd's final release of new studio material. I'm stoked. How about you?

Track Listing:

1. Things Left Unsaid
2. It’s What We Do
3. Ebb and Flow
4. Sum
5. Skins
6. Unsung
7. Anisina
8. The Lost Art of Conversation
9. On Noodle Street
10. Night Light
11. Allons-y (1)
12. Autumn’68
13. Allons-y (2)
14. Talkin’ Hawkin
15. Calling
16. Eyes to Pearls
17. Surfacing
18. Louder Than Words

No comments:

Post a Comment