Wednesday, December 17, 2014

This Year's Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame Inductees

The inductees for the Rock N' Roll Hall of Fame have been decided. The list for the class of 2015 includes:

Stevie Ray Vaughan
Joan Jett & the Blackhearts
Lou Reed
Green Day
The Paul Butterfield Blues Band

Being honored with the Hall's "Award For Musical Excellence" will be Beatles drummer Ringo Starr, who was already inducted in with the rest of the band in 1988. All the other members have been inducted into the hall for their own solo efforts over the years.

This doesn't seem to be too shabby of a list. It's about time Stevie Ray Vaughan got in. This will be Lou Reed's second time getting in, as he was inducted with The Velvet Underground in 1996. Unfortunately, Reed passed away last year so he will not be inducted in person. I know quite a few people aren't too pleased about Green Day being inducted, but I think they deserve it. They have some exceptional tunes and have been a major influence to a lot of people over the past couple of decades.

The only thing I'm really displeased about is that Deep Purple has once again been snubbed by the Hall. They have been eligible since 1993 and every year for the past 21 years they have been passed over. Personally I think it's all politics with the Hall and wanting only to do it if original guitarist Ritchie Blackmore performs with them, which he won't due to decades' worth of tension. It's a shame because Deep Purple has been a HUGE influence on many rock bands over the past few decades and they deserve to be honored for their achievements.

The ceremony will take place at the Public Hall in Cleveland, OH on Saturday April 18, 2015.

No comments:

Post a Comment