Monday, June 23, 2014

Singer Robert Plant Premieres New Single 'Rainbow'

Though legendary guitarist Jimmy Page is currently hard at work getting all the remasters of the entire Led Zeppelin catalog ready to go, singer Robert Plant has been no slouch either with his own work. He has been working with a band called The Sensational Spaceshifters and today they have released a single titled Rainbow from their album ‘lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar’ which will be released on September 9th of this year.

This will be Plant's first release of new original material since his 2005 album Mighty ReArranger. His past two releases were albums done as a collaboration with singer Alison Krauss and were filled entirely with covers. Nine of the eleven tracks written for the album were done in collaboration with the band, but two were covers of ‘Little Maggie,’ a traditional folk song, and ‘Poor Howard,’ an adaptation of Lead Belly’s ‘Po’ Howard.’

In a recent press release Plant said:

“It’s really a celebratory record, powerful, gritty, African, Trance meets Zep. The whole impetus of my life as a singer has to be driven by a good brotherhood. I am very lucky to work with The Sensational Space Shifters. They come from exciting areas of contemporary music…I have been around awhile and I ask myself, do I have anything to say? Is there a song still inside me? In my heart? I see life and what’s happening to me. Along the trail there are expectations, disappointments, happiness, questions and strong relationships….and now I’m able to express my feelings through melody, power and trance; together in a kaleidoscope of sound, color, and friendship.”

'lullaby and... The Ceaseless Roar' is available for pre-order on Plant's website. The pre-order includes: a print of the cover, immediate download of the single Rainbow, and a guarantee of advance digital downloads prior to physical release. The album will also be available in lossless FLAC file format.

A US tour for the Sensational Spaceshifters will be happening this fall. Dates to be released soon.

Track Listing for ‘lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar’:

1. ‘Little Maggie’
2. ‘Rainbow’
3. ‘Pocketful of Golden’
4. ‘Embrace Another Fall’
5. ‘Turn It Up’
6. ‘A Stolen Kiss’
7. ‘Somebody There’
8. ‘Poor Howard’
9. ‘House of Love’
10. ‘Up on the Hollow Hill (Understanding Arthur)’
11. ‘Arbaden (Maggie’s Babby)’

No comments:

Post a Comment