Saturday, February 7, 2015

Van Halen to Release First Live Album with David Lee Roth

After many days of rumors swirling around the internet, it has finally been confirmed by the band itself that Van Halen will finally be releasing its very first live album with original singer David Lee Roth.

Being considered by the band their "definitive live album", the upcoming live release will be titled Tokyo Dome Live in Concert and will feature recordings of Van Halen's July 21st, 2013 performance at the Tokyo Dome in Japan during the tour supporting their 2012 studio effort A Different Kind of Truth.

The album will feature 25 songs, including ones from A Different Kind of Truth. The Van Halen News Desk says “there are absolutely no touch-ups on the lead vocals, unlike most live albums. They considered using different songs from different shows, but thought it would be better to simply release one stellar performance.”

In addition to this upcoming live album, Van Halen will also be taking the same route Led Zeppelin has been taking over the past year by rereleasing all of their old catalog with Roth but remastered from the original analog tapes the tracks were recorded on. The band will be starting with Van Halen and 1984 and will be releasing them at the same time as Tokyo Dome Live in Concert. Later on this spring Diver Down, Women and Children First, Van Halen II, as well as Fair Warning will be rereleased as well.

I can see this live album being a double edged sword. On the one hand I think it is great for Van Halen to put out something that shows what they can do in their later career live. Plus, it will be cool to hear some of the newer songs in a live performance. On the other hand, the band isn't as youthful, energetic, and hungry as they once were. They have all aged and no amount of effort will cover that up. There is no doubt that they can still put on one hell of a show, but odds are it won't sound anywhere near as upbeat, adventurous, and fresh as they did 35 years ago. Roth's voice while still fairly intact still shows age. Plus, the lack of former bassist and backing vocalist Michael Anthony will be a serious setback as well. If I were in their position I would look into finding some old soundboard recordings from their original heyday and see if they can be properly mixed and mastered into a live album as well.

Track List for Tokyo Dome Live in Concert:

1. Unchained
2. Runnin’ With the Devil
3. She’s the Woman
4. I’m the One
5. Tattoo
6. Everybody Wants Some!!
7. Somebody Get Me a Doctor
8. China Town
9. Hear About It Later
10. (Oh) Pretty Woman
11. Me & You (Drum Solo)
12. You Really Got Me
13. Dance the Night Away
14. I’ll Wait
15. Cradle Will Rock
16. Hot for Teacher
17. Women in Love
18. Romeo Delight
19. Mean Street
20. Beautiful Girls
21. Ice Cream Man
22. Panama
23. Eruption
24. Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love
25. Jump

No comments:

Post a Comment